I get rid of those pesky animals that get in your house. Nationwide call: 1-888-488-1415

  • Animal Control Posts

  • Why do squirrels come to my house?

    Squirrels enter human homes looking for shelter, food, warmth, and a nice place to raise their young. They are not usually aggressive and do not enter homes looking to attack people. They just want free rent! It is possible for squirrels to carry rabies and other diseases, but that is not often the case. Most rabies cases come from bats. If you or someone you love has a squirrel problem, click here.
  • Meta

SLC Attic Animal Removal: First determine what kind of animal is present.

Posted by animalcontrol on March 3, 2009

A nest of baby raccoons had been living in the attic.

A raccoon family with six babies was removed from her Salt Lake City attic.

Nationwide call:  1-888-488-1415

It is nearly that time of the year again and animals will be out doing their spring thing and looking all over Salt Lake City (and the rest of the country, I suppose) for homes for babies and stuff like that.  Because they might decide that your home is “the place” I thought I would write and tell you my painful lesson about raccoon removal.  

I started hearing running and chewing in my attic and called the Pest Control company that services my yard.  They sent out a guy who looked in the attic and said there were “very large droppings” up there and a hole in the garage wall.  I had squirrels in my yard, which I had been feeding for years, and he decided that must be the problem (but I did wonder about the “very large droppings” part.  Would squirrels make “very large droppings?”) 

But, I followed along, left the hole in the wall open and put out poison.  After a few weeks, there was almost no squirrel activity in the yard, but the noises hadn’t disappeared.  In fact, they were louder-thumping, crying almost like screaming, all kinds of stuff.  So, my friendly squirrels were dead and the problem was worse.

To make a long story short, I did have squirrels in my attic, but I also had a raccoon!  I didn’t need squirrel poison, I needed raccoon removal. I was angry and disappointed in the Pest Control Company so I started searching around for someone who could really help me and found this company, United Wildlife.  They came out and looked in the attic and found the very large droppings, the hole, ruined insulation, two dead squirrels and A NEST OF BABY RACCOONS!  Raccoon removal became an immediate priority. 

It turns out that I needn’t have killed my squirrels at all; I could have vented them out of the attic and sent them back to the trees.  They had only moved in because of the hole the raccoon made.  The trapper from United Wildlife was able to capture the adult animal and gather up the babies and take them away.  He also took care of the nasty job of the droppings and the dead bodies and everything else that was gross up there.

I was so grateful to know things had been taken care of that I sent him home with a plate of cookies. (Isn’t that so Utah?) 

Pest control companies are great for spiders and stuff like that, I guess, but when it comes to animals, professional raccoon removal is the way to go.  If you start hearing strange noises this spring, call United Wildlife before you call anyone else.  You won’t regret it.  1 888-488-1415.

Leave a Reply

 
