I get rid of those pesky animals that get in your house. Nationwide call: 1-888-488-1415

  • Animal Control Posts

  • Why do squirrels come to my house?

    Squirrels enter human homes looking for shelter, food, warmth, and a nice place to raise their young. They are not usually aggressive and do not enter homes looking to attack people. They just want free rent! It is possible for squirrels to carry rabies and other diseases, but that is not often the case. Most rabies cases come from bats. If you or someone you love has a squirrel problem, click here.
  • Meta

Get rid of Pigeons in Salt Lake City, Utah

Posted by animalcontrol on June 30, 2009

Years ago I heard this crazy song by a guy named Tom Lehrer:  Poisoning Pigeons in the Park.  


The best, most effective, most humane way to get rid of pigeons is to trap them and remove them from the location.

The best, most effective, most humane way to get rid of pigeons is to trap them and remove them from the location.

Spring is here, a-suh-puh-ring is here. Life is skittles and life is beer. I think the loveliest time of the year is the spring. I do, don't you?  'Course you do. But there's one thing that makes spring complete for me, And makes every Sunday a treat for me.   All the world seems in tune On a spring afternoon, When we're poisoning pigeons in the park. Every Sunday you'll see My sweetheart and me, As we poison the pigeons in the park.   When they see us coming, the birdies all try an' hide, But they still go for peanuts when coated with cyanide. The sun's shining bright, Everything seems all right, When we're poisoning pigeons in the park.   We've gained notoriety, And caused much anxiety In the Audubon Society With our games. They call it impiety And lack of propriety, And quite a variety Of unpleasant names. But it's not against any religion To want to dispose of a pigeon.   So if Sunday you're free, Why don't you come with me, And we'll poison the pigeons in the park. And maybe we'll do In a squirrel or two, While we're poisoning pigeons in the park.   We'll murder them all amid laughter and merriment, Except for the few we take home to experiment. My pulse will be quickenin' With each drop of strych'nine We feed to a pigeon. (It just takes a smidgin!) To poison a pigeon in the park.

You can see videos of a performance and all that stuff on YouTube, but be warned, the song is very catchy and will get stuck in you head.  I mention it because I find the song in very poor taste, yet find myself humming it from time to time. 
 
Lately, that has happened more because I have some pigeons I need to get rid of and, while I wouldn’t do this myself or recommend it to anyone, pigeons can make a person pretty desperate.
 
I live not too far from one of Salt Lake City’s great parks. I often see people feeding the birds there during the day and sometimes I just want to shout at them “Stop it!!! You are encouraging them!!”  The birds might eat in the park, but some of them roost on my house and they are driving me crazy.
 
I want to get rid of pigeons in the worst way.  I don’t want to poison them, but what are my options.  How can I get rid of the pigeons that are roosting on my house?

Nationwide Pigeon Control: 1-888-488-1415

Leave a Reply

 
