I get rid of those pesky animals that get in your house. Nationwide call: 1-888-488-1415

Flying Rats (AKA Pigeons) in Salt Lake City, UT

Posted by animalcontrol on July 6, 2009

pigeon

Pigeon control will reduce the health risks imposed by pigeon droppings.

When I tell people I am looking for pigeon control options, they often say things like “but pigeons are cute” and “what did the pigeon to do you?”  Well, one of my children has asthma and that makes it very serious. 

We live in an apartment building in Salt Lake City, Utah.  Pigeons like to roost on the roof of the complex.  The problem, besides the noise and filth on the ground and around the building all the time, is the nests.  Pigeons poop in their nests all the time.  In fact, the nests are mostly disease ridden piles of poop from what I can see.

The poop dries out and combines with all the other junk in the nest and gradually becomes very powdery.  When the wind blows or anything disturbs the nests all that dust starts to move around.  It comes down the vent pipes for the bathroom.  It is sucked in through the air conditioner.  It filters in through the windows.  Basically, my apartment is full of pigeon poop dust all the time.

If you know anything about asthma, you can image what this does to my daughter’s breathing.  I can’t believe how much more often we need to do breathing treatments and use her inhaler.  It took me a while to figure out what was going on.  I just thought maybe she was growing or a change in the seasons or something.  Now that I am sure I know, I am going to the manager and demand that something be done to control the pigeons.  My daughter’s health and the health of us all is at stake.  They have to get rid of these nests and control the pigeon problem in the future.

You might say it is just my opinion and unfair to the birds, but you don’t live with the beasts.  I am sure that something can be done to control the pigeons and make this a nice place to live.

Nationwide Pigeon Control: 1-888-488-1415

Leave a Reply

 
